• Keeping up with ABIM Policy Changes

    Since the February 3, 2015 “we got it wrong” letter from the ABIM CEO Dr. Richard Baron to ABIM-certified physicians many changes have been made to the MOC program in order to reduce the burden on physicians and make the MOC program more relevant and meaningful. The first 4 changes listed below were specifically requested by SCAI as part of its advocacy efforts on behalf of members:


    Certification Status:

    On the ABIM website, diplomate’s MOC status is now listed as “participating (or not participating) in MOC” rather than “meeting (or not meeting) MOC requirements.”

    Underling Certification:

    As of January 1, 2016, maintaining Cardiovascular Disease certification is no longer required to maintain certification in Interventional Cardiology or other subspecialties of cardiovascular disease.

    CME for MOC

    CME activities may be registered through the ACCME to earn points to fulfill ABIM's MOC expectations for assessment of medical knowledge. To be eligible for MOC points, CME providers must meet specific requirements, including assessing participants for meaningful engagement in the activity.

    Performance in Practice

    ABIM will not require (1) Practice Assessment (2) Patient Voice or (3) Patient Safety in its Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program through 12/31/18.

    Certification Exam

    The 10-year recertification exam is still required; however, the ABIM is researching alternatives to the traditional exam. In the meantime, diplomates are now being given an opportunity to participate in an annual blueprint review. Review of the interventional cardiology blueprint is scheduled to be announced in the spring of 2016.


    Both the annual and 10-year fees will remain at or below the 2014 level through at least 2017

    Current MOC Requirements in General

    In addition to licensure and enrollment requirements,

    • Every 2 years, MOC points must be earned through completion of at least one MOC activity;

    • Every 5 years, 100 MOC points must be earned with at least 20 points in Assessment of Medical Knowledge (points earned at SCAI 2016 will count toward the 20 points)

    • Every 10 years, the certification exam must be passed

    Current Requirements Specific to Certification in Interventional Cardiology:

    Interventional cardiologists must submit a Form Attesting Interventional Cardiology Practice, verifying performance as primary operator, co-operator or supervisor of 100 PCI cases during the two-year documentation period, which is consistent with the ACCF/AHA/SCAI 2013 Update of the Clinical Competence Statement on Coronary Artery Interventional Procedures.

    Note: The alternate pathway of providing a procedural log of 25 consecutive cases is no longer available for diplomates whose certificate expires 12/31/16 or later.

    • The documentation period for certificates expiring December 31, 2016 may start no earlier than July 1, 2014 and end no later than October 1, 2016.

    • The form also requires verification of participation in a PCI quality improvement project.

    • If you fulfill the 100 PCI-case procedural requirement for recertification in Interventional Cardiology before the close of the documentation period, ABIM recommends that you submit at that time instead of waiting.