• Health Policy


    Chair: Osvaldo S. Gigliotti, MD, FSCAI (May 2016–May 2019)
    Co-Chair: Dmitriy N. Feldman, MD, FSCAI (May 2016–May 2019)
    Staff Liaisons: Dawn Gray (dgray@scai.org); Chris Gallagher (chris@potomaccurents.com)


    To educate our members, ourselves, and key stakeholders (legislators and their staffs, government agencies, patients and the general public) about policies and positions that directly and indirectly affect all aspects of interventional cardiology and to advocate for those positions as directed by the Executive Committee of the Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions.


    • Evaluate proposed legislation to understand its impact on interventional cardiologists and our patients.
    • Ongoing outreach to federal agencies (Evaluate and develop comment letters in response to proposed FDA, CMS, NIH, AHRQ federal regulations, getting to know agencies/outreach to federal agencies, assess existing relationships with agencies).
    • Support select new interventional cardiology technologies by advocating for coverage and reimbursement of those technologies, when appropriate to support patient-centered decision making.
    • Engage in federal and state level legislative and regulatory proposals to positively influence the outcome.
    • Identifying members who have strong contacts with key members of Congress.


    Voting Members

    Member Term Start Term End
    Joseph D. Babb, MD, MSCAI May 2013 May 2018
    Suzanne J. Baron, MD May 2016 May 2019
    James C. Blankenship, MD, MSc, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    Larry S. Dean, MD, MSCAI May 2016 May 2019
    Peter L. Duffy, MD, MMM, FSCAI May 2016 May 2019
    Clifford J. Kavinsky, MD, PhD, FSCAI May 2016 May 2019
    Dharam J. Kumbhani, MD, SM, MRCP, FSCAI May 2012 May 2018
    Arthur C. Lee, MD, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    Srihari S. Naidu, MD, FSCAI May 2012 May 2018
    Edward J. Pezanoski, AS, RCISD, CVT III May 2016 May 2019
    Robert Piana, MD, FSCAI May 2013 May 2019
    Kenneth Rosenfield MD, MHCDS, MSCAI May 2012 May 2018
    Thomas M. Tu, MD, FSCAI May 2016 May 2019
    Kirk Garratt, MD May 2017 May 2018
    Molly Szerlip, MD, FSCAI October 2015 May 2018
    Sandeep Krishnan, MD May 2016 May 2019
    Ahmed Mowafy December 2017 May 2020
    Andrew Goldsweig December 2017 May 2020
    Deepali Tukaye, MD, MBBS, PhD December 2017 May 2020
    Edward J. Toggart, MD, FSCAI, FACC, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    Joaquin E. Cigarroa, MD, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    K.C. Kurian, MD, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    Kartik Mani, MBBS December 2017 May 2020
    Lloyd W. Klein, MD, FSCAI May 2012 May 2020
    Paul Myers, MD, PhD December 2017 May 2020
    Richard P Konstance, MD, FSCAI December 2017 May 2020
    Robert N. Vincent, MD, FSCAI May 2013 May 2020
    Thomas Little, MD December 2017 May 2020
    Vijay Iyer December 2017 May 2020


    Henry A. Liberman, M.D., FSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Ahmed A El Ghamry, MD, FSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Augusto Pichard, MD, FSCAI December 2017  May 2018
    Carl L. Tommaso, MD, MSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Dharam J. Kumbhani, MD, SM, MRCP, FSCAI December 2017  May 2018
    Elizabeth Holper, MD, FSCAI December 2017  May 2018
    George Chrysant, MD, FSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Kenneth Rosenfield, MD, MHCDS, MSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Manish Bansal, MBBS December 2017 May 2018
    Marc Schweiger, MD, FSCAI December 2017  May 2018
    Robert Piana, MD, FSCAI December 2017 May 2018
    Steven Goldberg, MD, FSCAI December 2017 May 2018